Aletophobia

Hello

So recently I was going through a whole gallery of Tumblr quotes and I found something that caught my attention. First of all I’d like to tell you what Aletophobia is, it the fear of not  being good enough, its feeling like whatever you do is wrong or whatever decision you make may be wrong.

I don’t know how many people feel this way, I’ve realized that there are real people with real problems that some of us haven’t even heard about. I’ve realized that there are some things that people go through alone that they shouldn’t.

I’ll be finishing high school soon and in order to do that I have to pass my exams. At the beginning of each first high school year in my school we have to choose, either you go take science classes or you take art classes. I’ve never wanted to take science in fact I wanted to go to art but I felt like everyone wanted me in science; my mom, my teacher and even my sister who took art class just because I was among the top four in my class for the entrance exam. I decided to go with it, knowing fully well how much I hate calculations.

Now I’m going to write exams soon and I’m so unsure of myself. I’m flunking science subjects it’s not even funny. I keep asking myself if I’m good enough, I keep feeling I’m not good enough. My mates know it but I guess they try to be subtle when they say it.

A lot of them have asked me why I’m in science mostly because I’m good at art but I just shrug and say I don’t know.

I know it’s not really Aletophobia because Aletophobia carries a lot more weight than that and I know people hurt a lot more than this because of Aletophobia and my problem may be nothing compared to theirs but I guess what I’m trying to say is that I understand and I get you even if its only partial. I understand not feeling good enough because whenever anyone brings up the exams I feel it. I feel like I’m going to fail and that feeling stays stuck in my head and it makes me really sad.

No one should have to feel worse than that.

If you’ve got a friend that feels this way even in the slightest, go and give that person a big hug and tell them that you would always be there for them and that they can talk to you. Don’t let them feel alone.

lets keep this going, tell me what makes you feel Aletophobic (if that’s a real word) in the comments below.

quote-about-dont-ever-say-youre-not-good-enough-275x273.jpg

Don’t ever let anyone make you feel like you are not good enough or like you are a lot less of a person than they are. Say to yourself ‘I AM BEAUTIFUL’ because you are, in your own way.

-TEENAGE OUTSIDER

8 thoughts on “Aletophobia

Leave a Reply

